

Local body elections Ngā pōtitanga ā-rohe

11 October 2025 11 Hiringa-ā-nuku 2025





Local elections are held every three years, this is a chance for residents and ratepayers of Kaipara District to vote for the Kaipara District Council mayor and elected members and for your Northland Regional Council constituency to represent you.

The next Kaipara District Council local election is being held 11 October 2025.

Key dates

Rā matua



FRIDAY 4 JULY

Candidate nominations open



FRIDAY 1 AUGUST

Candidate nominations close at 12 noon



TUESDAY 9 SEPTEMBER Voting opens



SATURDAY 11 OCTOBER Voting closes at 12 noon



17 - 18 OCTOBER

Declaration of final results

Electoral system

Pūnaha pōti

In 2023 Council agreed to introduce the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system which means the candidate(s) with the most votes are elected.

Wards

Rohe pōti

Kaipara District Council - You will be able to vote for a mayor, and the councillors for the ward you live in.



Wairoa Ward

3 councillors



Otamatea Ward

2 councillors



Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward

3 councillors



Mayor

1 Mayor elected at large

Ward	Population	Ratio
Wairoa	11,000	3,667
Otamatea	6,180	3,090
Kaiwaka- Mangawhai	10,050	3,350
Total	27,230	3,404

Want to know what ward you are in?



Northland Regional Council - You will also be able to vote for your representative on the Northland Regional Council and a binding poll on whether to keep or remove the Te Raki Māori constituency.

Electoral officer

Kaipara District Council appoints an independent officer responsible for all matters including receiving nominations, counting votes and declaring results.

Dale Ofsoske Independent Election Services Ltd 09 973 5212 elections@kaipara.govt.nz

Electoral commission

Responsible for running New Zealand's parliamentary elections and keeping the electoral rolls up to date.

Kaipara District Council

Dargaville

32 Hokianga Road, Dargaville 0310

Mangawhai

The Hub Unit 6/6 Molesworth Drive, Kaipara, Mangawhai 0505

For more detailed information head to kaipara.govt.nz/elections



How do I enrol to vote or update my details?

Pēhea e rārangi pōti au hei whakahou taku taipitopito rānei?

As a resident you can enrol to vote if you are 18 years or older, a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident or have lived in New Zealand continuously for 12 months or more at some time in your life.

Enrol to vote before Friday 1 August to receive voting papers, after this point a special vote is required. You can enrol until 10 October 2025.

Enrol to vote or update your details at **vote.nz** or scan the QR code.

Resident roll and non-resident ratepayer roll

Kainoho rārangi pōti me kainoho kore whiwhi rēti rārangi pōti

For local elections there are two electoral rolls, a resident roll for those who live in the district and a non-resident ratepayer roll for those who live out of the district but pay rates on a property within Kaipara District.



Māori and general roll

Rārangi pōti Māori me rārangi whānui

If you are registered on the Māori roll or general roll you are eligible to vote.

There is no Māori ward for the 2025 local elections, following the decision to disestablish the ward in 2024. If you are on the Māori electoral roll you will vote for the ward you are a resident or ratepayer in. You cannot change from the Māori roll or

general roll after 10 July.

Voting

Pōtitanga

Local elections will be conducted by postal vote from Tuesday 9 September to 12 noon on Saturday 11 October 2025.

You can put your completed voting papers in ballot boxes at the below locations from Tuesday 9 September.

- Dargaville Woolworths
- Kaiwaka Four Square
- Ruawai Four Square
- Maungatūroto Four Square
- · Mangawhai New World
- Dargaville and Mangawhai council office
- Dargaville and Mangawhai Libraries

Posted votes must be posted before 7 October.